It’s Me, Delphine

My name is Delphine. I am…

  • A rising senior who (literally) just finished her junior year of high school
  • Terrified out of my mind about applying to colleges
  • Applying to a mix of top schools and state schools
  • A girl from humble roots who just really wants to make a change in the world
  • Incredibly indecisive, which is ominous for all the big decisions which lie ahead
  • Someone who wants to share this nerve-wracking experience with the world in hopes to demystify and yank the sheets off of an affair that too often takes place behind closed doors until the acceptance letters come out. Millions of high school seniors go through it each year, so where are their stories? I have no control over that, but I know I can share mine, and hopefully touch someone who feels (or will feel) like me. Maybe, just maybe, I can get you to share your story too.

post

Join me on what I imagine will be one of the most stressful, hectic, weird processes I have ever faced. Let’s strip the taboos away. Yes, we are applying to college with dreams that feel five sizes too big. We are afraid of ridicule if we admit that we do know what we want to do with our lives, or if we don’t have a clue. Too ambitious pre-empts failure, so we tiptoe around the subject, downplaying our achievements and goals in hopes to not draw attention to any future failure. This is our culture surrounding college applications.

I say screw that. That’s why I’m here.

Pleased to meet you. In the comments below, tell me who you are.

Leave a Reply

